How To Delete Version History In Google Docs

Last Updated on July 23, 2023 by Jake Sheridan

In this tutorial, you will learn how to delete version history in Google Docs.

How To Delete Version History In Google Docs

Google Docs is an incredibly powerful and useful tool for creating, editing, and sharing documents. However, all changes to a document are tracked and stored by Google Docs. This can be helpful if you want to keep track of the changes you have made to a document, but there may also be times when you want to delete all versions of a document.

For example, you may want to share your document with other collaborators, but you don’t want them to see the prior versions of the document. Luckily, Google Docs allows you to create a copy of the current document, effectively erasing all version history.

In this guide, we will show you how to delete version history in Google Docs by creating a copy of the document.

How to Erase Version History in Google Docs

Here’s our step-by-step guide on how to erase version history in Google Docs.

Step 1

First, open the document which you want to share without version history.

Click on the File menu.

In the File menu, click on the option Make a copy.

Step 2

Choose the name you want to give to the document, as well as the folder you want to save it in.

You can choose to share the copy with the same people or copy the existing comments and suggestions. After deciding on these options, click the Make a copy button to proceed.

Step 3

The new copy should no longer have any prior version history. You can confirm this by selecting File > Version history > See version history or by using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Alt+Shift+H

Summary

This guide should be everything you need to learn how to delete version history in Google Docs.

Click this link to make a copy of this sample document to try doing it yourself!