Last Updated on August 16, 2023 by Jake Sheridan
In this tutorial, you will learn how to calculate CPC or cost-per-click in Google Sheets.
How To Calculate CPC (Cost-per-click) in Google Sheets
If you are running a digital marketing campaign, you may be wondering how much it costs you to acquire a customer through ads. One of the key metrics to measure is the cost-per-click (CPC).
CPC measures the amount of money you spend for each click on your ad. It is calculated by dividing the cost of the entire advertising campaign by the number of clicks earned during that campaign.
For example, you may have spent $1000 in marketing expenses for a week-long ad campaign. If this campaign led to 100 users clicking the ad, then we can say that the CPC is $1000/100 or $10 per click.
This can be a helpful metric to track for both short-term and long-term campaigns. Knowing your CPC helps you measure the return on investment (ROI) of your campaigns and make adjustments to your advertising budget accordingly.
In this guide, we will show you how to calculate your CPC in Google Sheets.
How To Compute the Cost-per-click in Google Sheets
Here’s how to compute the cost-per-click of a campaign.
First, we’ll need to compute the total advertising cost for all clicks. We can use the SUM function to calculate this total by adding the range with our costs as an argument.
In our example, the total cost of our clicks is $7.04.
Next, we will need to know the total number of clicks. We can use the COUNT function to know how many cells are in our range.
In the example above, we find out that we have 14 clicks total in the range A2:A15.
We can calculate CPC by dividing the total cost for all clicks by the total number of clicks.
By dividing the total cost of $7.04 by 14, we arrive at an average cost-per-click of $0.50 for the campaign.
This guide should be everything you need to calculate the CPC (Cost-per-click) in Google Sheets.
You may make a copy of this example spreadsheet to test it out on your own.